How to Keep Your Chakras Balanced

The feeling of uncertainty is challenging the whole world at the moment, this can leave us with a feeling of being overwhelmed, depressed, frightened and confused. How do we help to balance our body and mind to cope with changing days and feel uplifted and hopeful for the future?

What are Chakras

An essential part of the 5,000-year-old system of Ayurveda (a natural system of medicine) that originated in ancient India. A great way to promote balance in a chakra is to create alignment in your physical body through:

1. Yoga postures

2. Breathing practices to encourage the flow of energy

3. Meditation to bring about clarity of mind

4. Massage and reflexology

There are Seven chakras centres in our body from the tailbone to the head. Chakras are spinning wheels of energy and when they are blocked we can be out of balance in our physical, emotional and spiritual body. Chakra balancing massage, yoga, or mediation will focus on the seven chakra centres, releasing stagnant energy. Chakra balancing massage, combining chakra aromas with deep tissue massage, reflexology and energy work, will help lead to decreased muscular tension, stress relief and increased energy. 

These are the seven chakras; can you recognise which one is balance or imbalanced in your life.

Chakra 1 grounded

Location: base of the spine, near the tail bone. 

When the root chakra is balanced, one has a good energy, a feeling of security and a healthy body awareness. When imbalanced, one feels lethargy, resistance to change and the need to slow down. 

Chakra 2 nourished

Location: just below the navel.

When the pleasure chakra is balance one has stable energy, alertness, unblocked emotions and is connected to the five senses. When imbalanced one feels disconnected to the senses.

Chakra 3 intention

Location: Between the chest and navel.

When the power chakra is balanced, one achieves goals, is self-confident and has strong motivation and direction. When imbalanced one feels mental blocks, nervousness and impatience.

Chakra 4 harmony

Location: Centre of the chest.

When the heart chakra is balanced one feels love and connection to self and others. When imbalanced one feels depression, loss of connection and lack of caring.

Chakra 5 expressive

Location: The throat. 

When the throat chakra is balanced one feels inner trust, inner reliance and easily expresses ideas and thoughts. When imbalanced one feels selfish, feelings of rejection and has difficultly in expressing oneself.

Chakra 6 insight

Location: Between the eyebrows.

When the intuition chakra is balance one feels strong intuition, a connection to oneself and mentally fit. When imbalanced one has mental blocks, and overthinks.

Chakra 7 wisdom

Location: Crown of the head.

When the crown chakra is balanced one feels strong, unclouded and joy for life. When imbalanced one feels loss of self, spiritual abandonment and lack of connection to the universe.

Work with your body and you will become balanced, strong and open.

Aveda chakra balancing massage at Vidatherapy, Teddington. 

Call 020 8614 1199 to book your appointment

Louise Green CThA, ITEC

Owner of Vidatherapy

%d bloggers like this: